The house where A.S. Pushkin has lived during his last months has a rich history. In the XVIII century Biron, a minion of the Empress Anna Ioannovna has lived there. In the beginning of the XIX century the house belonged to S. Volkonsky, who later became a Decembrist and the poet's friend.
A.S. Pushkin moved into the house in September, 1836. His flat in the ground floor was reconstructed according to its appearance of that time. The most interesting is the study where the poet has worked and where he died after the duel with Dantes in February, 1837. The museum has retained Pushkin's paraphernalia, his table, bookshelves, his death-bed. It also contains the death-mask and a medallion with Pushkin's lock.
In the patio of the house a monument to the poet by the sculptor N.V. Dydykin was set up in 1951. Every February 10 the museum arranges the Day of Memory of the great Russian poet.
|Address:||12, Moika River Embankment|
|Subway (Metro):||Nevsky Prospect (Browse map)|
|Tel:||+ 7 (812) 311 3531|
Back to All Museums list