During the ceremony the northern gates – gala entrance from the Neva - will be opened for the first time. The railing of the Marble Palace was allegedly designed by the architect of the palace, Rinaldi. In 1849, during the reconstruction works on the building, the railing was moved to its present location. This spring, after the renovation of the gate the visitors will be able to enter the palace from the embankment.
Besides, the unique restoration works are completed and four rooms, fitted out in the styles of different epochs, will be opened for the visitors. This May, "The Club of Friends of the Russian Museum" international society will be opened in the newly restored rooms.
Mikhail Shvydkoi, the Minister of Culture of Russia, will attend the opening ceremony.
News source: www.ipc-spb.ru
Print this news
Anniversary news archive for 22 May' 2003.
Anniversary news archive for May' 2003.
Anniversary news archive for 2003 year.