Official internet-portal of St. Petersburg, cultural capital of Russia
Petersburg CITY / Guide to St. Petersburg, Russia
Printed from:
City news, 15.06.2012 18:17

Will Tiller Crowned Sails Of White Nights Champion

Will Tiller Crowned Sails Of White Nights Champion

The International Match Race Sails of White Nights/Congress Palace Cup has finished in St. Petersburg, Russia with Will Tiller (NZL) claiming top spot.
Tiller, ranked World #14, had it all his own way in the final after he defeated Vladimir Lipavsky (RUS) 3-0 whilst third place went the way of World #15 Reuben Corbett (NZL) who defeated Russia's Sergey Musikhin 2-0 in the Petit Final.
"I fancy St. Petersburg and its unique water area," said Tiller after the prize giving. "The city is beautiful, wonderful. The competitions are perfectly organized; I'd like to come here again and again."
After the first day Andrey Arbuzov, three times St. Petersburg regatta winner, (RUS) was in the spotlight after a confident start that saw him win four out of five races. But therein after Arbuzov faded allowed and Musikhim went on to seal the Round Robin.
Arbuzov went on to face Tiller in the quarter final and fought for dear life but lost out 3-2. Four flights was enough to see Musikhim overcome Staffan Lindberg (FIN) and the Russian described the Fin as, "a stern, experienced, cunning and smart rival. It was challenging to sail against him."
Corbett overcame Sam Pearson from Great Britain with the same score of 3-1, and Lipavsky easily beat Stratis Andreadis from Greece 3-0.
It was to be an all-Russian and New Zealand semi-final with Lipavsky and Tiller coming out on top to face in the final. Tiller had it relatively easy overcoming Lipavsky 3-0 to take the title whilst Corbett had it all his own way in the Petit Final.
Tiller's victory means he has qualified for Match Race France, part of the Alpari World Match Racing Tour, from 24-29 September.

1. William Tiller (NZL)
2. Vladimir Lipavsky (RUS)
3. Reuben Corbett (NZL)
4. Sergey Musikhin (RUS)
5. Staffan Lindberg (FIN)
6. Stratis Andreadis (GRE)
7. Sam Pearson (GBR)
8. Andrew Arbuzov (RUS)
9. Alexey Stupka (RUS)
10. Marek Stanczyk (POL)
11. Nikolay Korolev (RUS)
12. Robbie Allam (GBR)

News source: ISAF/ISAF UK LTD

(c) 2000