Official internet-portal of St. Petersburg, cultural capital of Russia
Petersburg CITY / Guide to St. Petersburg, Russia
Printed from:
Culture news, 21.07.2006 16:31

WSU conductor to study in Russia

nicholas_wallin Nicholas Wallin, an associate professor of music at Washington State University, was recently accepted to the International Academy of Advanced Conducting in St. Petersburg, Russia. Those interested in attending were required to submit an application, résumé and video to be considered. Wallin conducts the WSU Symphony Orchestra and teaching conducting. He holds a Doctor of Musical Arts degree in conducting from the University of Minnesota.

• Global Credit Union recently announced the recipients of four $1,000 scholarships. Christopher Ranny of Mt. Spokane High School and Sarah Miller of Shadle Park High School were awarded Merle E. Brumgard Memorial Scholarships. Michelle Sybouts of Ferris High School and Brooke Petkevicius, formerly of Mt. Spokane High School, were awarded Founders and Pioneers Scholarships.


•Army Pfc. Edward Joseph recently graduated from basic training at Fort Jackson, S.C. He is the son of Dana Joseph of Cheney.

•Local residents Benjamin Galloway and Emily Ruskovich were recently named to the spring 2006 dean's list at the University of Montana. Ruskovich earned a 4.0 grade-point average.

•The Delta Gamma Foundation recently awarded $1,000 Spokane Alumnae Art of the Eye Scholarships to the following four area residents:

Heidi Bunkowske, who is studying criminal justice at the University of Idaho, is the daughter of Phyllis Grassi.

Gretchen Smythe, who is studying marketing and accounting at the University of Idaho, is the daughter of Leslie and Andrew Smythe.

Teresa Gjendem, the daughter of Mike and Cindy Gjendem, is studying human nutrition at Washington State University.

Lara Gass, the daughter of Jay and Gerri Gass, is studying political science at Washington State University.

• Lindsay Perez of Veradale was recently named to the spring 2006 president's list at Gonzaga University. Eligible students must maintain a grade-point average of 3.7.


• The following students were recently named to the spring semester honor roll at Lakeland High School.

10th grade

4.0 grade-point average: Matthew Haug, Joseph Heiner, Ruth Mattmiller, Brett Tobin.

3.5-3.99: Brittany Bryant, Scott Carr, Dylan Cloyd, Alana Duarte, Trennon Edmiston, John Goodwin, Joshua Hann, Darcy Harris, Jennifer Linna, Angelene Little, Louis Litzko, Michelle McCullough, Erin O'Hara, Melissa Phillips, Jordan Rhoads, Mackenzie Robson-Wood, Curtis Schelin, Ladd Serwat, Charli Shaw, Shantel Stevenson.

News source:

(c) 2000